Ricotta

It’s been a while, I know.  But when Lauren of Recipes to Rivals decided to make Ricotta this month, something I’ve been meaning to try since I learned how easy it was this summer, well, I couldn’t resist.  And boy, it hardly takes any time at all.

I picked up a gallon of the freshest organic milk I could at the local grocery store.  I was hoping to buy the local Pittsford Dairy brand, but it was not available.  That and a quart of butter milk and I was set.  I dug out our biggest pot, poured it all in, and set the burner on medium high (there was a lot of liquid to heat).

img_2354

I had other things to do that evening, mainly, make myself dinner.  So I slung the meat thermometer over the side, securing it with a rubber band on the handle of the pot, and just left a big spoon in the pot for easy stirring every time I strolled by.  It took a while, but as the temperature approached 85, magic started to happen.  Curds formed in the foam on top.  I stirred them in, but they kept forming and forming, and before I knew it, I had translucent whey (sorry, I forgot to snap a picture).

Next, the curds had to be strained.  The challenge called for fine cheesecloth.  I had some natural cheescloth that didn’t look too fine to me, so I folded the whole thing up to make 4 layers and straining was prefect!

img_2363

I let the curds drain for a while, and also tried to squeeze some of the moisture out.  That wasn’t such a good idea.  I ended up with a few large curds that didn’t mix very easily in next days dinner.  Next time, I’ll just leave everything to drain for half-an-hour and then package it away.

I ended up making Ricotta and spinach filled Cannelloni, and my roommate used a little bit to make some cannoli, like in some earlier posts.

Very tasty, very easy, and well worth a second try… hopefully with super fresh milk!

Published in: on February 28, 2009 at 12:20 am  Comments (9)  

9 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Great job. Mine seemed to clumpy as well. I wonder how we can get it to be more creamy.

  2. Great job! Your ricotta looks tasty! And the cannelloni sound delicious!

  3. It looks like you did a great job.

  4. That sure looks great. I agree with Lori, wonder how we can make it creamy.

  5. Great job! I also tried to squeeze the extra water out, and ended up with a brick of ricotta. I’d love for it to be creamier too, but it worked out fine in my pasta. Glad yours worked out too!

  6. great job! I don’t let mine drain for too long (sometimes like 10 minutes) and it is creamier. Also careful on how high your flame is when you heat the milk- especially if you don’t stir it you can have scorched curds from sticking to the bottom.

  7. I have anouther vote for too dry, but I know mine hung for more then 10 minutes and I did have temp control issues. still tasted great though. I would love to see your canolli recipe, it sounds great.

  8. I love fresh ricotta! I always imagined it to be a complicated process that required special equipment, but discovered its simplicity a few months ago. Mine has been clumpy in the past too, but I think it’s because the recipes have suggested letting it drain for several hours which seems to be way too long. Of course if you squeeze all the water out and form it into a brick you have paneer!

  9. fresh ricotta is one of my favorites – didn’t realize it was so easy to make. thanks for sharing!


Leave a comment