White Bean and Sage Dip

This dip I made to accompany my cracker challenge from Daring Bakers.  The rules were it had to be vegan and gluten free.  I decided my best bet was to peruse my Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone pilfered from my mother (I’m after her bread cookbook next).  I found a number of recipes that sounded super tasty, except it called for something dairy or an egg.  Clearly, I’m not cut out to be vegan.  But part of Daring Baker Challenges are to make something outside my usual recipe repetoir (they had that covered with the crackers), so I decided I’d take a stab at the White Bean and Sage dip.  Besides, I had a growing sage plant in my herb garden that I had no idea what to do with and this recipe called for 10 leaves!

It’s a pretty straighforward recipe:

1. Roast a head of garlic
1b. Boil beans and sage leaves together for 1.5 hours… 1.5 hours! Hell no! Luckily my roomie who owns the pressure cooker was in ear shot and suggested I use the pressure cooker.  “It’ll take 20 minutes!”  Half an hour, actually, but still super quick.
3. Blend everything together and season to taste.

I recommended NOT skimping on the lemon or the olive oil, both add a great depth to the flavor.  The end product reminded me a lot of humus in texture, and color, but with a slightly different flavor.  I might make this again for a party, but the recipe made a little too much for me to get through.

White Bean and Sage Dip
Adapted from Vegetarian Cooking for Everyone

-1 1/2 c Cannallini beans
-5 Cloves garlic
-10 sage leaves
-2 bay leaves
-3 T Olive oil
-1 whole head of garlic
-Juice of one lemon
-1 T chopped thyme
-Salt and pepper

1. Roast the whole head of garlic in a baking dish with a little water at 350 degree for 45 minutes.  You should be able to squeeze out the garlic.

2. Boil beans in a pot of water (covering beans by 2 inches).  Lower to a simmer and add the bay leaves, sage, and 5 cloves of garlic, and 2 T of oil.  Simmer for 1.5 hours, or 30 minutes in a double boiler.  Cook until the beans are tendor.  Remove the bay leaves.  Drain and save the extra bean broth.

3. Blend the roasted garlic and pot of beans (sans bay leaves), lemon, olive oil, adding enough bean broth to the desired consistency.  Season to taste.  I suggest not skimping on the olive oil or the lemon.

4. Stir in the chopped thyme and serve warm with crackers.

Published in: on September 27, 2008 at 8:46 am  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctoringdancinganddelectables.wordpress.com/2008/09/27/white-bean-and-sage-dip/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

