Spinach Soup

My boyfriend made spinach soup for dinner. We enjoyed this very healthy soup, and it used up some spinach that wilted in the fridge over our weekend-away. It had a lovely color; however, we both felt that something was lacking in either the flavor or texture or both. I would have said add some butter (my English roots are showing through), but I’d really like to find a healthy addition to this recipe.

I did try a few things to spruce it up. My first though was to add some crusty bread to this smooth soup, so I toasted a few slice of baguette. Dipped in, it added a nice crunchy texture. The consistency was quite watery, and I almost felt like I could drink it out of a glass. My boyfriend mentioned he may not have reduced it enough. I also felt it lacked a bite, so I added some sharp shredded parmesan cheese. This certainly added a little extra salt the soup may have needed, and, well, cheese makes almost anything better. At the end of my bowl I found a morsel of unblended potato, which added a lovely little bit of texture to sink my teeth into, so next time we may save some chunks of potato from the blending step.

Unfortunately, I don’t have enough experience in the soup department to figure out exactly what this soup needs, and so I’m looking for suggestions from the soup experts out there.  I would greatly appreciate it.

Published in: on July 7, 2008 at 11:08 pm  Comments (2)  
Tags:

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://doctoringdancinganddelectables.wordpress.com/2008/07/07/spinach-soup/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

2 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. lemon juice (fresh) might be a good addition. And garlic in my book is always good.

  2. Ooo, I’ll have to try that… and perhaps more garlic next time. Thanks for the suggestion! We tried adding rice to the leftovers, it didn’t work out :(.


Leave a Reply

